Can I take Mission Critical Apps to the Cloud? – THE GOLDEN 7 CONSIDERATIONS


I have been in Minneapolis since Monday to participate in #SAPWeek.  #SAPWeek is a unique experience where EMC brings in their customers, partners and experts, from all over the globe, into a concentrated deep dive whiteboard jam session for a few days. I was at the first in Santa Clara in 2007 and have been attending many each year since. There are very few things that are as consistently more rewarding as exploring the future of enterprise landscapes that run SAP, and that is #SAPWeek.

Right now, customers are re-platforming in droves. Here in the mid-west the topics of interest ranged from “Is it time to go to X86/Virtualization”, to “what is HANA TDI” (and I should I use it), to “is the cloud real for mission critical”.

The quick answer to whether you should roll out HANA with an appliance or TDI is: TDI. You are going to save 20-30% or more of OPX getting off the appliance model. If someone   is advising you otherwise, get new advisers.  Check out my blog on “the HANA Puzzle” for more on that story.

As for the cloud, many customers were…well… shocked here in the heartland that “cloud” is a feasible option for mission critical apps like SAP HANA. I am hear to tell you it is. There are many VERY LARGE companies aggressively adopting the cloud for SAP Traditional and HANA. Since our alignment with Virtustream in 2014 our field teams are very active responding to this market migration.  (If you are not familiar with Virtustream,  here’s a good level set video for you)

During the discussions this week. I referred to a slide I built with Christoph Streubert to help our customers navigate the questions as to whether they can get to the cloud. My laptop was not booting and I promised to post this via a blog. (Commitment DONE)

Golden7 for Cloud

I think the average IT org can take this list and build out a tailored profile/gap analysis to begin to determine the big questions of the cloud:

  • What – What workloads will I move to the cloud (or what environments in my landscape)
  • When – When does it make sense based on my cost and risk profile
  • Why Not – What about my environment hinders me from sending workloads to the cloud.  Make sure you socialize this item.  I am finding these “sacred relics” of the past are actually breaking down as your cross the lines of business. Cloud is compelling.
  • Who – Not all clouds are the same. Make sure your cloud partners are offering:
    • You performance requirements/guarantees
    • You long-term operational costs with significant reductions.
    • Risk monitoring and management

As you dive in to the “Golden 7” considerations, feel free to reach out for an interactive discussion on how to fill out your version of this story

